Thanks to Economia!

Thanks to Economia for publishing my piece on the Fair Tax Mark. I’ve had some very good responses to it so far.

Just in case this never sees the light of day, a while ago I posted this reply to Richard Murphy’s post on the Fair Tax Mark debate:

Richard, I think it’s obvious from my comments that I don’t think that you shouldn’t have published. I just think you should amend your methodology if you’re serious about making it work and getting businesses to adopt it as you want them to.

You will recall my suggestion was to launch this as a beta version in the first instance so you could build consensus around the methodology using hypothetical or anonymised data sets. It’s obviously too late for that, but that’s no reason to be unwilling to adapt your method now.

I should also point out that Economia asked me to repeat the points I raised in my original blog post.

As far as the maths point goes, I would suggest that Richard reads my conversation with Alex Cobham on this blog from a while back. Alex obviously understands the problem with the weighting issue because he suggested a fix.

About Ben Saunders

I'm a Chartered Tax Adviser and a freelance writer. This is my personal blog about, well, mainly taxation. I might put other stuff in. Who knows.
This entry was posted in Fair Tax Mark. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

