Fair Tax Mark starts looking for consensus after all…

Following my piece in Economia, Richard Murphy denounced me as an enemy of free speech for suggesting trying to build a bit of consensus and then the Fair Tax Mark began openly looking for consensus over its methodology…

Overall, I’m pretty chuffed with that response. It shows that somebody took what I was saying seriously. And given Richard’s personal response to my piece, it appears to have been done rather begrudgingly.

Initially, I received an email from the campaign, so I was considering publishing the email on this blog to encourage others to feedback their views. Fortunately, FTM have done the sensible thing and asked anybody who is interested to provide feedback.

I see from Heather Self’s blog that Heather has asked them how long the consultation will be open for and it looks like it will close on 18 August 2013. I’d urge anybody with an interest in seeing tax issues reported sensibly in the media to respond with their views.

Personally, I will be taking a bit of time to put together my response, which I will publish here. I am carefully considering what suggestions to make because I have some ethical concerns which I will raise with the campaign directly.

Aside from that, I am pleased to note that FTM has downgraded its initial campaign to a “pilot”, a word which I can’t find once in any of their press releases on launch.

About Ben Saunders

I'm a Chartered Tax Adviser and a freelance writer. This is my personal blog about, well, mainly taxation. I might put other stuff in. Who knows.
This entry was posted in Fair Tax Mark. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

